s wcag-20 – One Guideline A Day


WCAG 2: What they are, what they are meant to be

On December 11th, 2008, after 5 years of working, the W3C WAI released the WCAG 2.0 . They are an evolution of the WCAG 1.0, released on May 5th, 1999, that became a little bit obsolete due to technological advances. Despite this obsolescence, many laws still standed on these guidelines, so a new version was needed.

WCAG 2 follows the spirit of trying to bring a most accessible Web, but with some changes with the previous ones.

Read more

The four principles

An innovation at the WCAG 2 respect to the WCAG 1 is the organization of the guidelines into principles. Accomplishing groups of guidelines you will success in a principle. The goal is to succeed in the 4 principles, as if any of them fails, users with disabilities will experience difficulties to use the website.

Read more

Webpages conformance levels

So, once you have tested the success criteria, you can state the conformance of your webpage into 3 levels:

  • Level Single-A (A): your webpage satisfies all the Single-A (A) success criteria.
  • Level Double-A (AA): your webpage satisfies all the Single-A (A) and Double-A (AA) success criteria.
  • Level Triple-A (AAA): your webpage satisfies all the Single-A (A), Double-A (AA) and Triple-A (AAA) success criteria.

Read more